Home » Cherishable Memories » Reaching out to the society through my personal story

Reaching out to the society through my personal story

When I was first invited by Bhutan Foundation for a consultative meeting on the production of a documentary to raise public awareness on the needs and rights of persons with disabilities in Bhutan, I had not thought that I would be the central character in the film. When I was later approached with a request to lead the story in the documentary, I was humbled with the offer but also anxious at the same time because I was not sure how well I would be able to present myself in the lead role. However, I finally accepted the offer with a strong conviction that I might be able to inspire and motivate other persons with disabilities and raise public awareness on disability-related issues through the story of my personal life.

The documentary “Amrith, the Story of his Inner Vision” basically presents the glimpses of my personal life at the foreground of the lives of other persons with disabilities in Bhutan. As a visually impaired person, it was a great privilege for me to be part of this noble project to raise public awareness on the needs and rights of persons with disabilities in the country through my own personal story.

As the central character of the documentary, I am truly honoured to be able to connect with the lives of other persons with disabilities and their parents during the course of the shooting. I have gained a lot of experiences while meeting and talking to persons living with disabilities and the parents of children with disabilities. The main story of the documentary circles around the needs and challenges of people living with different forms of disabilities in Bhutan and calls for appropriate intervention and action from the government and relevant agencies to break the social barriers that separate us from the rest of the society and work towards creating an inclusive society for all where everybody enjoys equal rights and dignity.

Personally, I feel great that the major fragments of my fractured life could be immortalized in this documentary and if those episodes of my life weigh enough to motivate and inspire others, it would be one of the biggest achievements of my life. The overall experience was truly enriching for me and I would like to sincerely thank Bhutan Foundation and the production team for giving me this wonderful opportunity and guiding me throughout the process. My only hope now is that the documentary would be worth the expectations of the audience and that it would serve its purpose of creating awareness on the needs and rights of persons with disabilities in Bhutan. The documentary was finally launched on April 2, 2017 coinciding with the International Autism Awareness Day in Thimphu and you can watch it below.

Since this blog is meant for your reading pleasure, I welcome your comments/suggestions. For an ordinary blogger like me, there is nothing more satisfying than receiving hits and comments from followers like you. You are my source of inspiration and encouragement. So, thank you very much. I hope you have enjoyed the article.

