Home » Personal views » The power of a positive mind

The power of a positive mind

When obstacles appear on our way, we feel we are stuck in the middle of nowhere. Our mind shuts down and our dreams and aspirations go blank. It is at this point of time that we should reflect on our inner strengths and make sure that what we cannot do does not interfere with what we can do. Whenever we find ourselves caught in the midst of problems, we should never forget the fact that we are given this life just because we are strong enough to live it. The real beauty of life lies in how positively we take it. Life is never a bed of roses. We all have our own share of problems to deal with. But in the middle of difficulties lie opportunities. We must never get discouraged by a few failures in life. The real success lies in being able to go from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm. People say that today’s failure helps us develop strengths needed for a better tomorrow. So if we know how to live with a positive mind, we have no reason why we should be discouraged by our failures from pushing our way forward. It is said that indeed the flower that blooms in adversity is the most rare and beautiful of all. We in fact have all the resources within us that can help us cut our way through all kinds of problems and difficult situations. But we often fail to recognize those strengths within us and miss the opportunity to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I am normally a positive person. I would always love to look at life and the world around me with a positive mind because I strongly believe that the real energy of life comes from positive thoughts. I have personally come across hundreds of challenges in my life some of which could have easily pushed me to the edge of the world, but with a positive heart, I have always managed to find my way out. Even the loss of eye-sight does not make me regret because for me, becoming blind came as a blessing in disguise. Had I not lost my sight, I am pretty sure I would not have got the opportunity to go to school. Then the constant financial constraints during school days and the discrimination and humiliation I was subjected to as a child while living with relatives made me even stronger and more hard-working. All those challenges that kept pricking me throughout my school life constantly provided me with extra motivation to study hard and strive for academic excellence. I am still thankful for being subjected to such difficult circumstances during my childhood days because if I had a comfortable and luxurious life like others, I might have not reached where I am today.

Then the year 2001 brought another twist in my life. I got selected for a scholarship program to undergo BA Mass Communication in India but when it came to admission, the Scholarship Division could not find the course in any of the colleges in India. I was compelled to live with my friend in Thimphu while waiting for the confirmation of course admission. I lost one year and became one year junior to my own batch. I was sent to India for BA English course in 2002, exactly one year after receiving the scholarship. But that too did not make me regret much. I graduated in 2005 with a gold medal for topping the class and sometimes I wonder if I could have achieved the same result had I joined the college one year earlier. Moreover, it was while waiting for my course admission that I first met my wife, the sister of my friend whom I had to live with for a year before going to college. Then I was lucky to have graduated in 2005 because I got the opportunity to sit for the 1st Civil Service Common Examinations that year. Had I graduated one year before, I would not have managed to get through the Civil Service Examination because of the compulsory Mathematics paper which used to be my most difficult subject even in school. So everything came as a blessing in disguise for me. Even when I applied for Endeavour scholarship to pursue masters degree in 2011, it was good that I did not get it that year. I didn’t know that my 1st promotion was due in January 2012 and if I had got the scholarship, I would have missed my promotion. So when I re-applied and got the scholarship in 2012, I was double blest.

So whatever happens, it always happens for the good. We just have to keep our fingers crossed and see things as positively as possible. We should be able to see a bottle half-full, not half-empty. A negative attitude will always blur your vision and prevents you from seeing the situation from a different perspective. Only if you open your heart and let your inner light brighten the world around you, you would be able to see things beyond the horizons and realize that behind every cloud lies a silver lining. Whatever we do, we should never give up. The biggest mistake we ever make is that we don’t realize how close we are to success when we decide to give up. So we should always keep trying our best until we get to our goals. We are the maker of our own destiny. Some people just dream of success while others wake up and work hard to make it real, and that’s what makes the actual difference at the end. As people say, the best way to predict the future is to create it. Always start your day with a positive mind and light up the world around you with your smiles. People may not remember what you have said or done, but they would never forget how you have made them feel. So always stay blest and stay positive.

Since this blog is meant for your reading pleasure, I welcome your comments/suggestions. For an ordinary blogger like me, there is nothing more satisfying than receiving hits and comments from followers like you. You are my source of inspiration and encouragement. So, thank you very much. I hope you have enjoyed the article.

