Home » Personal views » Who is really lucky?

Who is really lucky?

Photo of Bhutanese 8 lucky signs. Image source: google.

I don’t own a car because my wife can’t drive. She can see but she has no passion for driving. A few years back, she forced herself to learn how to drive out of necessity, but she lost all the little confidence she had developed, after she accidentally hit another car. I have a lot of passion for driving, but I have no sight. What a tragic mismatch! When I was able to see the world as a child, I still remember that my ambition was to become a truck driver but it could never materialize. So whenever I walk to and from my office or roam in the town, I often meet my friends driving nice family cars. Looking at such a comfortable and luxurious lifestyle they live, I feel they are luckier than me because they seem to have everything that can make them live their lives to the fullest. But they often tell me that I am luckier than them because since I don’t have a car, I don’t have to worry about the extra expenses incurred on the maintenance of the car and the fuel. In a way, I feel they are also right but the maintenance and fuel cost is definitely not the reason why I am not able to own a car.

I know my loss of vision has definitely weighed me down with so many challenges because I find it difficult to do most of the things which I used to do easily when I was able to see. In a social setting, I often find myself lost in the midst of cheering crowds of people watching dance shows or sports which do not make much meaning to me. But when I appear on the stage to sing, people say I am lucky because although I have no sight, I am blest with a good voice. I know I am not a good singer but I love singing and writing songs. Although I miss the physical beauty of the world, people make me feel that I have not missed much of other gifts of nature.

When I am among high level officers and bosses, I feel they are lucky because they have the power to change the world around them as they wish. But when I am with ordinary people, they say I am lucky because although I am blind, I have got good education and have good job. Well, I believe they are also right. I have been fortunate enough to get the opportunities to go to school and to the well-known universities which indeed makes me luckier than many individuals who have not got such opportunities. So, who is the lucky person ultimately? I find all those who can see and have a comfortable life luckier than me, but they find me luckier than them. Even in counseling profession, I feel counselors who have sight are luckier because of their ability to observe the nonverbal cues in their clients but some people say that since I can’t see, my clients might feel more comfortable confiding in me their confidential information. So, I am literarily confused who is lucky at the end of the day. I have come to understand that ultimately, everybody is equally lucky in his or her own ways. I think this is the best way to take life forward. It’s not going to do good if we measure our successes against the successes of others. This is what I have realized lately.

 

Since this blog is meant for your reading pleasure, I welcome your comments/suggestions. For an ordinary blogger like me, there is nothing more satisfying than receiving hits and comments from followers like you. You are my source of inspiration and encouragement. So, thank you very much. I hope you have enjoyed the article.

