Home » Cherishable Memories » Celebrating Dashain with kids and relatives

Celebrating Dashain with kids and relatives

Photo of Thukten, Rigden and Anju with Tika

As the Hindu communities across the world celebrated Dashain today, it has been a great pleasure for me and my wife to join the celebration with our kids in our own small way. According to the Hindu mythology, Lord Ram killed Ravana on this very day and established peace in the region. Since then, this day has been celebrated as the day of victory of the good over evil, and we all observe the occasion by receiving blessings from elders and feast together with families and relatives. This year’s Dashain has been a special festival for us because we had missed the opportunity to be with our kids on this day over the past two years when we were abroad. So, it has been a big occasion for us today because due to God’s grace, we have been able to celebrate the day with our kids once again.

Group photo with kids

We all got up early this morning in a festive mood. I was glad to see our kids equally excited. After cleaning up ourselves, my wife offered butter-lamps and burned incense sticks in honour of the day. Then at around 9 o’clock, my wife blessed all our kids with Tika, a symbol of wishes and prayers for them. No wonder, all the kids were glad to receive money from their mother as a gesture of love and wishes from her side.

Then we all went to my wife’s eldest brother’s house to receive Tika. My brother-in-law, who is also a blind, gave us blessings and good wishes. After getting Tika from him, we all went to Durga Temple to receive Tika from the Pundit and went to my wife’s aunt’s house in the town. It was a hectic day but we enjoyed a lot. In aunt’s house, we all received Tika from Aunt and had a special lunch together. It was a lovely family gathering and we all had a great fun together. It was good to see a lot of other members of the family who had come to join us.

Photo of people enjoying food in Aunt Durga's house

We returned home in the afternoon. As we walked up the town, it just made me realize how fortunate I and my family are to have all good people around us to remember us on such a special day. One of my wife’s uncles and his wife are arriving tomorrow evening from Haa to bless us. It would be another big event for us because it is going to be another special union of family-members and relatives.

I am grateful to all those who have wished me and blessed me on this day. I would like to wish all my friends and family-members a very very happy Dashain 2014 and may you all live a prosperous and peaceful life ahead. May you always have the strength to win over the evil and attain success at all times. May God bless us all!

2 thoughts on “Celebrating Dashain with kids and relatives

Since this blog is meant for your reading pleasure, I welcome your comments/suggestions. For an ordinary blogger like me, there is nothing more satisfying than receiving hits and comments from followers like you. You are my source of inspiration and encouragement. So, thank you very much. I hope you have enjoyed the article.

